Song Review: “You Are My Weapon” by Upon Wings

I am very difficult when it comes to new artists and bands. I tend to stay away from them because when I get into something I go on a binge and want everything from the selected artist/band, the genre, and others like them. I got into symphonic metal music in 2009, so towards the end of last year I was finding less and less big bands that sounded like Within Temptation, Delain, etc.  I’m used to caving and only four smaller bands have captured me. One of the smaller bands is from the US, actually a state away from me! Upon Wings is a female fronted rock band that uses operatic influences in their music. The band consists of Anne Autumn Erickson as lead vocalist, guitars Kevin Kardine, and Peter Tzaferis on drums. They are from Michigan, so I’m hoping that if they do touring in the Midwest in the near future, they come somewhere close to me so I can see and meet them! Anne is super nice to talk to on Twitter! So it would be great to get an actual hug from her one day!

Anyways, back in February the band released their new song “You Are My Weapon” and I have been addicted to it ever since it popped on Spotify! You know how I love intros and it has my kind of introduction. I love Anne’s vocals on this track. She sounds so powerful and yet delicate too! When you first hear it, you feel you can sing right along with her but then you realize you need to work on controlling your breathes a little before jumping in. Yes, I am speaking from experience! It took me two weeks to get my breathing under controlled until I felt like I could hit the same high notes. The actual sound of the song is really good, I love the guitars but I do feel that with Anne’s vocals the guitars and drums seem a little lost. The band just released the music video for this song I think a few weeks ago. I’m still waiting to read those lyrics, but I almost know half of the words. There’s nothing like getting a tweet from a band saying they’ve just released a song or music video. I keep forgetting that’s one of the perks of new bands, you become a hardcore fan very quickly and they tend to remember you as time goes on!

Leave a Reply

