Song Review: “I Want You To Know” by Zedd feat. Selena Gomez

I’ve been getting back into EDM here recently, I literally spent two nights in a row doing a bit reflecting how dance tracks have evolved throughout the years. I went on a massive man hunt for a song that I haven’t heard in several years, for some odd reason I thought I’d remember how it goes. Sadly, I only remember that it had a female vocalist which doesn’t narrow it down at all! You’re probably wondering why I’ve chosen to start out this post this way, well here’s your answer. I find that some electric dance music (EDM) can get lost, especially now that EDM has basically taken over the Top 40 charts all over the world. .

It’s 2015 and Zedd has done a great job at creating good EDM songs for both dance and mainstream radio. He is one of the younger DJs too. He’s had hits with Ariana Grande and Hayley Williams of the rock band Paramore. Now he’s created a song with pop singer Selena Gomez. There’s been a lot of talk that these two are more than just friends, but you know me I don’t care about all that. I just want to hear the music. I was super excited to hear the new song they were coming out with, but the first time I listened to “I Want You To Know” I was a little torn. I loved the intro and I liked the drops, but every time I hear Selena going into the verses I just cringe. I absolutely hate it. It’s not the lyrics, she just sounds boring and dull. I’ve listened to the song a few times and I have to say it’s growing on me, but it still gives me the same feeling. It just sounds like another EDM song with another female singer lending their vocals.

It’s very difficult for me to not like every song, if you’ve read my posts before you know that sometimes I can’t even say I don’t like a song because I know that down the line, I’ll end up liking it. So maybe the reason why I don’t really care for this song right now is because it’s not being played enough yet. I mean, the song did just came out late last month, so maybe once the stations start replaying it about a hundred times, I’ll change my mind. Until then, there’s nothing really special about it.

So what do you think? Is “I Want You To Know” pretty awesome, or do you agree with me?

Leave a Reply

