Picture It & Write: You Haunt Me

9457_634172943358959_3064420914176624414_n

I’ve been hurt, so bad that I didn’t think that my bruises could ever fade.
I’ve been black and blue for so long that ice could no longer  mend the swelling.
I always shed a million tears before the sun rises in the mornings.
I look over my shoulders when I’m alone.
My body languages tells people I’d rather be at home, locked up inside my thoughts.
The once fire that burned deep inside of me is gone.
But you would never know this because I hide it all so well, you fall for my fake smile.
Not everything is what it seems.

6 thoughts on “Picture It & Write: You Haunt Me

  1. This line really hit me in the gut – “I’ve been black and blue for so long” the imagery is powerful. Thanks for contributing this week to Picture it & write! 🙂

    – Ermisenda

    Like

Leave a Reply

