Top 3: Indie

UntitledI’ve been getting into a lot of Indie music lately. I love to listen to Indie music whenever the artists and/or bands are already soft, calm, and sometimes dark whenever I’m feeling the same way. I’ve had a few days were I’ve been feeling pretty crappy. I’ve tried to keep myself energetic as I possibly can but it’s being a pain in the ass when your body is too lazy. Yesterday, it was such a struggle getting myself to sit up for more than an hour. I wasn’t in the mood to read, watch TV, I barely had enough energy to listen to music that’s how crazy it all is, if I’m denying any kind of music at all, you know something’s wrong with me. Most of my problem is the fact that I’ve lost my will to sleep. My whole pattern is messed up, getting it back on track is also a pain in the ass! I’m getting tired of sleeping in til noon or two in the afternoon, but after I’ve stayed up for half of the night after getting maybe two hours of sleep, even flickering my eyes open to roll over in my bed, makes me wanna go back to sleep. I’m weak that’s all there’s to it. If I can get myself to stay up all night and all day that next day, then I could probably get it all back on track where I wouldn’t feel like crap all day long and I’d actually be happy to do things again.

I’m surprised that NONE of the mellowish music that I have on my playlist on Spotify cures my problem because majority of the music on there is fairly simple and sweet – gentle and lullaby-like. I’ve decided to start a new series that represents something with me on Thursday’s, Since I’m talking about music, I thought I’d start there. There are different artists and groups that I’ve slowly gotten into recently, but there a couple that I love and have loved for years it seems like Plumb and Dido. They really started the playlist for me. Anything that sounds like Dido’s music in a way can do wonders with me. If I could get away with listening to this type of music at night without learning the words and just letting myself drift off to dreamland, that basically cure any problems I have I would imagine. Do you have a specific genre of music were you can listen to at night and just completely shut off the world and let it take over your senses and muscles to the point were you’re lifeless but awake? I do and the top three artists and groups are:

  1. Banks – I am a newly fan of the California native, Banks. I was actually not a fan of her in the beginning because I thought she looked too much like Sara Bareilles. I was introduced to her music by another blogger, I skimmed through the post and was not yet hooked to anything in particular yet. Somehow I heard “Before I Met You” on one of the Sirius XM radio stations or just on a TV show I don’t remember, all I remember was feeling connected to her low voice and the soft but dark beat of the song. From there, I went on my Spotify and just started listening to her released singles and EPs. I hate myself for never giving her a chance at first but I’m glad I was given a second chance and saw the light. I’m all ready for September when her debut album comes out. Thank God!
  2. Zella Day – Zella Day, I found her on accident. I was searching for new music in May, going through the new music releases on Spotify and the song “Sweet Ophelia” showed up first and I was hooked as soon as it started. It wasn’t just the beat of the song that made me melt, her vocals were so strong but gentle. It was a catchy song, easy to remember all of the lyrics of the song. I’m ready for my next iTunes card, because I’m buying the rest that I don’t have yet but maybe I can hold out until her new EP comes out.
  3. London Grammar – This band consists of three members, Hannah, Dan, and Dot. They were another I found on accident, I was really looking for soft and calming songs, very Indie honestly. The song “Strong” began to play and the different sounds of the guitars gave me a very interesting feeling, I was hoping it wasn’t going to be too upbeat because I am a lover of songs starting off slow and then end up getting more and more uptempo. This song was a good balance of the two, I think the only reason it has that kind of balance is because of the girl’s voice, it’s very low but also high in a way too. I even have a little bit of trouble getting MY voice to go back and forth, she does sound a bit like Florence Walsh of Florence + The Machine but I feel like Hannah’s voice is stronger than Florence’s in a way. It’s hard to explain and I’m not about to start a debate of how I’m wrong so I’ll just stop there.
Leave a Reply

