The Social Media Reunion.

UntitledI’ve been inspired to write this as I am still stunned by it. When I was in high school, I was heavily inspired by the upperclassmen as any freshman would be. I think it’s better to be influenced by your older peers than to be afraid of them and I think anybody can agree with that. I knew a LOT of kids in the class of 2009 and the only reason why I wanted to be like anybody in my own class is because of this specific group of girls in this class. I thought they were the coolest group of girls and as I’d find out later in my life one of the sweetest groups that I needed up being around too. I remember my freshman or maybe it was my sophomore year. They sat up against the far side of the wall and in the middle of the cafeteria and they wore, I wouldn’t say the trends of that year because I didn’t even know what was trending that year. I never knew because that wasn’t me to know all that. Anyways, I was influenced but also pretty scared to “step” on anybody’s shoes too. I didn’t want to make an ass of myself but during their last year in school, I actually sat with them a lot during lunch and felt part of them even though I was a class below them. They always made me feel welcome whenever I was around them. I was always mad that the popular clique in my class was sports related group of girls and I never played sports so I didn’t feel welcome by them, plus the fact I NEVER felt welcome with the whole table. By the end of our last year that whole group of girls crumbled and from there, I no longer wanted to be apart of them because they had nothing I wanted anymore.

Now that it’s been a few years, I actually talk to a couple of the girls in that small group, remember how I said that in my class after our last year the table kind of crumbled? Well, so did theirs as the years rolled on too. It was kind of shocking to me because I thought nothing could break these girls apart but something really ended their friendships with one another and I was actually sad because in a weird way I was still feeling inspired by them even though we hadn’t seen each other in two years or so. As years went on, they each went on a different path, some had kids, got married, got engaged, and things were going up and down for each of the girls. I still think these women are as strong and fearless as the day I met each of them in school. Three of them I’ve known since we were all in Elementary. Now I found out that sometime this month they are supposed to have their five year reunion. I was pretty amazed that it was time for their reunion and then two seconds later it dawned on me that, it meant next year it will be MY five year reunion. I told my mom this as we were driving my sister to her new school for the start of her first semester of her sophomore year. Now that’s a way to make your parent feel old! Funny thing is, she told me she got a paper in the mall before we went to Plummer advertising that her 25th high school reunion was coming up too. I thought it was interesting but really weird too.

I have always wondered if I’d ever go to any of my future reunions in my life. I find it hard to go into a building were all of my past classmates and their partners/spouses would be with them too. Would we “hang out” in our old cliques again? Would it feel like high school were we are ignoring old friends that annoyed us and the temptation of “stealing” somebody else’s ex? Reunions seem like a thing of the past to me as sites like Facebook keep you up-to-date on things. Those old classmates have added you as a friend on there and even though you approve of their request you still do what you did in school, ignored them. I feel like the younger generations that have always used Facebook to keep up with their friends after the decline of MySpace don’t want to experience a reunion of sorts because what’s left to know when you can easily find out on their Facebook profiles? I’m still pretty indecisive about if I’ll ever go to any of my early reunions. I do know that later on as the 20th or 25th year reunion comes around I would want to go to it because those are BIG years. Yes, a five year reunion is still a big time but we’re too into social media still to know the importance of experiencing a reunion. I’ll leave this here with two question. Have you went to your high school reunion while having a bunch of your old classmates on your social media account? Do you think these younger generations should still make the trip to go to their earlier reunions?

Leave a Reply

