Am I Really Excited For The “Fifty Shades of Grey” Movie?

I actually wasn’t going to do this kind of post, but everytime I tried to ignore it, it always came up to me. Have you read the first book of the erotica novel by E.L. James, Fifty Shades Of Grey yet? Well, here is your chance to watch the debut trailer of the film coming out early next year, plus some thoughts I’d share about this whole thing, of both the book and everything about the film.

To some, today is just a normal Thursday, second to last day until the weekend. Well, for the rest of us, generally talking about the women here. Married, in a relationship and single women are all looking forward to the debut and official trailer of the infamous book that took over the world last year. Fifty Shades of Grey. If you live under a rock or have heard of it but still trying to figure out if it’s worth even reading it. Instead of giving you a summary of the story,  some of you may not know but I actually did a book review of the first book of the trilogy and I’ve got to say, it took me a while to get through it and I ended up not liking it after I finished. However, it didn’t really stop me from reading four or five other books just like it afterwards.

The book is about the BDSM lifestyle, the whole dominance and submissive roles of couples. How make you can take with mixing both pain and pleasure. This was not only my first erotica novel I’ve ever read, but it was also my first ever BDSM novel as well. When I read this book I was very weary of the whole adventure of this man’s secret life and everything he was into, plus how successful he was and how he kept those parts of him apart so well. Whereas, Ana was the very ordinary girl who had her own insecurities but yet she wasn’t afraid to say what she thought needed to be said. These two characters have chemistry but if I remember correctly not enough to keep me interested in the book. So when I heard that there was going to be a movie about the book, since I hated it, I thought I wouldn’t have any thoughts about how would perfect for the roles of each characters, how much of the book would they keep out especially the BSDM parts of the story, and if I’d be interested in watching the trailers. In other words, I thought I’d never be into the phenomenon again.

Well, I have to say that I am very into the whole process from going to the book and now to film. I don’t know if it’s because this will be my first movie I’d be seeing after reading the book, or if I’m just curious how much of the book is still the script and the details of the set. After they had announced who would be directing the movie, it was said that they had begun the casting parts. I had my choices and was definitely not happy that none of them were picked. Everybody had their top actors and actresses choices for Christian and Ana to be for Matt Bomer and Alexis Bledal and this was what I found on different comments from Facebook. So when everybody heard about Dakota Johnson, was to be cast as Ana Steele, people were of course mad about that. For the male role and when it was announced that Charlie Hunnam would be Christian Grey, if I didn’t know any better I thought I saw more people being more excited about that then the first casting announcement. After that, it was said that Charlie had to quit the production and Jamie Dornan was the replacement for Charlie, it was a shock but some understood Charlie’s reasons as he did it because of the scheduling for the show, Sons of Anarchy. I have to say at this point in time, I wanted Charlie to play Christian. That was basically the reason why I was so into the production of it, then I heard about Jamie and I thought I’d be done with it.

Today, they premiered the first trailer of the film that will be coming out on Valentine’s Day next year. I may or may not have watched the trailer… Yes, I got excited for it. Even though it was a two minute and seventeen second trailer, I could remember and see different details of the book inside this short glimpse. At the end of the trailer, it shows Christian unlocking the door of the infamous “Red Room” and it shows a small dose of what goes on inside this room. I’ve watched it three times and my friend actually sent me the link of a website that probably had the trailer first but sadly I couldn’t get that link to load so I resulted to going on YouTube and that’s where I found it. I was still on the mend of Dakota playing Ana but after seeing this trailer I could believe her as to be Ana Steele very well. I’m still on the fence about Jamie for Christian though, it’s going to take more than a two minute trailer to make me believe that he’s Christian Grey because even before I had picked out my favorites for the role, that wasn’t anywhere near who I wanted to play that powerful character of the series, but we’ll see when it comes out next year.

6 thoughts on “Am I Really Excited For The “Fifty Shades of Grey” Movie?

  1. I loved the book but am frankly disappointed by the trailer. I think they make Ana look TOO submissive. I thought they’d make her snarkier like in the book. She did have personality! And I agree about Jamie D. I was so excited for Charlie H! 😦

    Like

      1. I’m still in limbo, I mean I want to go but I don’t know if you’d feel uncomfortable with watching THAT kind of movie in front of everybody, you know? 🙂

        Like

      2. I don’t know, we’ll see. I might have my friend who’s read the books more than once go to see it first and then tell me how graphic it is. I don’t know though, I think I might have to see it in theaters because I doubt my dad will let me rent it, could you imagine that? Haha! He’s the one who told me that Charlie was going to be in it and totally butchered the title up. It was hilarious and yet frighting at the same time!

        Like

Leave a Reply

