Monster In Laws

lessonsI don’t know why but I’m on this kick to watch only but Everybody Loves Raymond whenever I’m eating. I’m surprised I haven’t got choked on my food considering of some of the episodes that my mom has on her DVR. Within the last two days I’m seriously surprised that I didn’t get choked because they were just hilarious! When my family got on ELR kick I fully stayed away from it, because I did not like Frank and Marie. They annoyed the living hell out of me and so I basically stayed away from it, but I have been a little bored with the shows on my DVR so thankfully I can switch over to my parent’s shows on their DVR and watch them in my room. I swear for like the last two or three weeks that’s all I have been watching. Majority of them have been there since last Christmas and Thanksgiving so there are holiday episodes and I’m happy to say I’m finally over those, but I just watched this episode where those quotes came from yesterday afternoon and so I thought they would be the perfect way to bring a little bit of humor to this post!

From the time I was thirteen, I have dreamt of having a family and have been thinking of different names to give to my future kids. It’s a normal thing at that age, as long as you don’t end up pregnant around that age it was normal back then. When my papaw started watching the show and talking about it with my mom and dad, I started to pushed myself away from it. Because I thought it was stupid, the over-bearing mother who gives more attention to the younger son than the other and the husband who is a stubborn ole goat with no manners for mankind, but has a gentle side like a kitten. He’s just selective on when he wants to open up like that. Whenever I’d think about getting married, I’d totally forget about the in-laws. I mean, come on! If anybody has watched ELR and is still single, you are trying to avoid marrying a person because you’re afraid you’re going to end up with in-laws like Frank and Marie Barone. Don’t blame you though, because that’s mainly my reason why I don’t want to get married. From a young age, I never really saw a wedding in my near future, if I did it was always blurry and too perfect for my taste. It just wouldn’t happen that way. In my head, I never met my in-laws because I haven’t exactly met “the one” yet either so I have nobody to see just yet or get a feeling if they’re going to be the Barone family or not.

I am afraid of marrying somebody though, because they not only get to deal with me and my baggage but my family is a hoot too. We’re like a package of brownie, we’re full of nuts! I don’t think we’re as bad as the Barone family but I think we’re close. We don’t have a “Marie” character, all of the women in my mom’s side have motherly sides to them but it isn’t as bad as I guess it could be. I don’t think I should say anything about the males because I’ll just get into trouble but at times they did have some characteristics of Frank. For example, wearing stretching pants at the dinner table, addicted to sports, and stubborn as hell at times. Frank said everything that he had in his head and Marie was quiet to him. Something that nobody in my family would actually do. I feel like my family is more like Ray and Debra than anybody else. Ray and Debra had a strong connection but weren’t afraid to say what was on their minds. I know in different generations it’s different in general. You’re raised to do different things but I know I just don’t want to deal and I’m pretty sure my future spouse doesn’t want to deal with anybody like is the Barone family.

Leave a Reply

