Making Things Easier Or Making Things Just Because We Can?

I find the fact with our new technology nowadays, people can invent basically anything and sometimes it makes you wonder, “why didn’t I come up with that?” Well, I have an interesting story to share with you that I came across on my Facebook earlier this evening. It was about the Upsee harness. Now when it comes to different things that makes other people and kids lives better, I am very on the fence about it. Mostly because growing up, I hated getting shortcuts (meaning getting different gadgets and other stuff to make my life a little easier) I didn’t want to take the easy way because I wanted to be like everybody else. I strived to be like the people who I was always around because there was nobody like me around to share the feelings of what it’s like to be in this life. I have had wheelchairs, scooters, and very annoying walkers. I think after trying out the walkers earlier in my life, they’ve just kind of ruined my exception of what walking would be like for the people I’ve seen walk around on their own two feet since they were babies. So ever since the discussion of walkers and such, has me on the edge and makes me slightly uncomfortable because I had an awkward experience walking for the first time. I think that experience though just embrace myself in the wheelchair though. It took me a few years to fully let myself go and be fine with how I looked like in it and as much I’d love the experience of just ruining one pair of pants or shoes, I wouldn’t change it at all.

However, back to the Upsee harness. A mother of a boy with cerebral palsy created this harness that lets a small child walk along side its mother/father/guardian and move the same way as them. For myself, accepting myself the way I am, I support this. When I first saw the pictures, I thought back to the days when my parents and grandparents would stand me up by my arms and let me take a few steps around the living room. It was so uncomfortable for the both of us and as I got older and bigger, I could no longer do that and that lead to the walkers. In the summer, we would put up our big pool and I would wear a floatly over my chest and arms and that was my only way to walk and dance on my feet. So seeing this just makes wish somebody had come up with this when I was younger. I would have used the crap out of this. I might’ve been to learn how to walk with my sister. Oh, okay knowing my competitive side and my parents’ nervous situations that never would have worked in my favor! Anyways, it is a harness that makes the child stand straight up against a person’s legs and they are strapped in and there are even little feet pedals (at least that’s what I’m calling them!) and they place their feet in there and it is lined up with that other person’s feet. They do every movement that person is walking with their legs. So if they are bending their legs up, the child’s leg is moving up too! It’s so neat!

Something that I have never been a fan of and I’m slightly afraid of what the future could be like for us with electric wheelchairs. Everybody should be kind of familiar with the robot legs that people can get nowadays. Now granted I’ve never used them, so technically I have no real say in them, but I don’t like the fact that a machine such as this is controlling how our body moves. I’ve seen the legs and the chair that is basically a regular wheelchair but a person stands straight up. I don’t know why, but everytime I think or see these things my mind goes back to the movie I, Robot and I feel like that people are using the technology to their advantage and making these new things like the legs and chairs, and to some people it could be a good experience for them. I’m just not cool with it. I like things simple I guess. I’ve learned how to move myself in a push wheelchair on carpet without falling off-balance (knock on wood!) and I love my simple four button and one controller electric wheelchair. What’s so wrong with using less of what we really need? I mean, am I wrong to be thinking the way I am?

What are your thoughts on the Upsee harness or the robot legs? Am I wrong to be using less than what the world thinks I need? Because honestly, I think they need to use the technology on how to make the world better for ALL of us and it’s not just how we get around day-by-day. We need to change a few things first, like curbs and public places to be easy access to us too. I think we’re going backwards, making the “cars” to get around first before fixing the places we need to get to. What do you think about all of this?

Here is the article for more information about the Upsee Harness and the mother who invented it: click here please!

Leave a Reply

