Spring’s Paradise

Cirque Ziva (photo taken by my sister)
Cirque Ziva (photo taken by my sister)

Yesterday was a little boring day for me, but it obviously wasn’t boring for my sister. She’s been at school for probably four weeks without coming home, mainly because of the weather and my mom for working on the weekends. So she’s been there during the weekends, spending time with her friends, and hanging out with her fish. While I sat in my room on a beautiful sunny and almost spring like day, she was out and about with her friends. It was like going with them as many pictures she posted on her Facebook to share with the rest of us, but I am going to start this from Friday night, because what she and her friends got to do that night was pretty cool too! Sometimes the college have different speakers and acts come and the tickets are usually free for the students on campus. Blondie went to one on her first weekend being at college, it was a sex comedian. She texted me that night saying it was funny but also made her feel uncomfortable as well. I don’t understand how it would, considering neither one of our parents were there with her. I know when we watched both American Reunion and Due Date with our parents, it was one of the most embarrassing and uncomfortable things in the entire world.

wabash
Wabash River

Anywho, Friday night she and the girls went to see Cirque Ziva: The Golden Dragon Acrobats. I’m thinking this was less embarrassing, but a little uncomfortable to watch as they had balance on themselves and tables without any wires keeping them there. One of the things that I found interesting was she had time in the middle of this outing to post a status on Facebook about the tricks these people do. She said, “I just really wonder what possesses these Cirque Ziva people to try all the crazy acrobatic things they do..” As she got tons of likes of people wondering the same thing. I immediately wanted to chime in about her days in cheer. My comment to her was, “Kind of sounds like what mom and dad thought about everytime you went up in a build. Lol” It’s completely true even though she wrote back saying the stuff they did in cheer wasn’t the same as what these people were doing. True, but I’m betting their folks are having the exact same thoughts that our parents thought everytime their child goes up and does one of these tricks. Especially if they get hurt and go right back at it after they’ve been cleared by their doctors, which is another thing that she did in cheer too! Anyways, they went to see that for the start of the weekend. The next day, both here and there were amazing. Temperature wise. It was a definite peek of the next season, spring.

Wabash River
Wabash River

Sun, blue skies, and fresh air makes for a perfect day to go outside for everybody but me. I stayed inside. However, I did enjoy the smell of fresh air whenever the kittens or my mother opened my door. Because in my house, when my dad is hot (even if nobody is too) the house has to get cool. So the front door was open for most of the day. ChiChi wasn’t a fan of the random noises she heard the entire time it was open and we didn’t like her barking either, but the smell of early spring air was intoxicating. Blondie got to enjoy the outdoors when she and her friends went around and see different buildings. They went swinging on the swings at the park at Wabash River. They sat by the river, watching the ducks in the water (I don’t know if that’s what they did or not, it’s what I would do if I went by anything with water!) Blondie got some very pretty pictures of the river where they were sitting. Later on in their day, they went walking around and found some old buildings. I’ve been the one in our family that has a slight history problem, I like old and abandoned places and I always have. I like caves and such, but apparently Blondie’s inner historic side has come alive after seeing these old buildings around the river.

Chauncey Rose Memorial Plaza
Chauncey Rose Memorial Plaza

Two places she apparently thought were interesting were a memorial and white four-legged thingy. These are what she described them as to me. To make this post more about travel I have went out of my way and found what each of these places were about and they are quite neat. The first round of pictures she shared were I guess the left and right sides of the Chauncey Rose Memorial Plaza. She also got a picture of a huge entrance way lined with bricks instead of just a big block of concrete. The Chauncey Rose Memorial. It was the first building designed to be a post office and a federal office in 1887, but then it was moved in 1936 to Fairbanks Park. Sadly, that’s all of the information I could find about it. The other one, the “white four-legged thingy” I kind of just want to continue to call it that. Apparently this four-legged arch was part of an amazing swimming pool in 1924, it was surrounded by a sandy beach and was 198 feet long and 128 feet wide. The arch was fountain that was designed by a graphic design student at Blondie’s very own school after he won a contest with 42 other designs entered in, it was made in 1983. It is now flower garden. After my sister had posted the picture of the arch, someone had posted a comment saying that if you stood in the middle of it and spoke, it sounds gnarly! The girls never noticed that.

The Sunken Garden
The Sunken Garden

That night, they went to hang out with some more of their friends and had fun. I, again, sat in my room alone and pushed through trying not to fall asleep on myself. Something else that happened while she was out, was my dad and his friends got out their bikes for their first ride of the new year! My dad almost broke his head trying to ride out of his little building and yes, my mom got to ride the bike too, which just made her day that much brighter! She got to wear her bike boots that she just had to get in the fall. My dad even let her wear his leather jacket as he was wearing another jacket. They just went around town, as dad and his buddies went a little further. I spend my time with the monsters and watched BuzzFeed’s interview with Patrick Stewart and Ian McKellen. That was probably one of the cutest and hilarious interviews I have ever watched. I am so pumped to see the new X-Men movie, but wish I could see these two on Broadway. I think all around for everybody yesterday was a good day. When I woke up today, it looked gloomy, but I did remember hearing it was supposed to be cold again and we might get some snow. Well, around 1pm, it did in fact start snowing here. Now the sun is out shining bright and making my afternoon that much better. I wonder if my mom has to work tomorrow as I would like to get out of this house if the weather isn’t too bad. I hope everybody had a pretty good weekend and has a good week as well!

Leave a Reply

