Just A Thing Of The Past

vcr

Today has been a good day, but yet I’ve been feeling a little bit sad too, even though nobody knew I was. It’s been good because it’s my dad’s birthday but also I got to enjoy this beautiful day. I got to go outside and feel the slight breeze of the spring like wind and according to my papaw just before I left my nana’s house this afternoon the temperature was 52 degrees. Perfectly explains when my mom took me outside to go back home I go outside and my arms instantly get goosebumps because of the cold wind that just happened to pass by us. Of course, my mom thought it felt amazing because of the fact she was moving stuff around for a bit so she felt fine about it. I wasn’t expecting like summer weather, but I was hoping for something a little warmer though!

While I was at my nana’s I finally got to talk my mouth off. When my nana and I don’t see each other for a while, we tend to keep everything bottled up inside and when we’re around each other we just kind of explode! Poor Papaw gets right in the firestorm too. Sometimes, I include him the conversations and nana just ignores him. Well, after my parents left my nana got my soup ready. I wanted to have chicken noodle soup the last time I was there but we were kind of rushing, so I couldn’t have it then. In the mist of all that, my papaw turned on the TV and found men’s college gymnastics and he kept saying, “oh, I used to be able to do that!” The funny part is, I have no clue if he has or not. We were actually talking at the beginning and after I got done eating. My nana painted my toe nails in a teal and purple polishes. When she was doing my nails, I started hearing the music in the background and I knew the sound but I couldn’t figure out what it really was, until it hit me and I basically had a fangirl moment right there and then. They were playing “New Divide” by Linkin Park so just imagine my reaction and my nana’s too.

Once we were done and they were drying. I finally got to finish the rest of my cookies n cream ice cream. I’ve had it for a long time it seems like. When my mom went to the store today, this time I hope she got the cookie dough. I miss my cookie dough! Anyways, after I finished it and I actually everything today and I am freaking hungry now. Hmm. After I finished, we went into the living room because she needed some help with putting old VCR tapes into boxes. In the 90’s and early 00’s my papaw’s VCR still worked and he liked taping practically every basketball game that IU and Butler went up against but some weren’t old tapes like that. He’s got some train and airplane tapes as well. Including a certain tape that I find the most interesting, since I’m part of the whole age of DVD’s seeing a movie I know as a VCR tape format is a little weird. They had Apollo 13 as a VCR tape. They are just a thing of the past until you go to grab one off a shelf. I love to clean but being in my grandparents’ living room gives me the creeps. I cannot be in there by myself or I’ll just drive myself paranoid. It has always done that, while everybody in my family loved that eerie feeling you’d get like somebody was watching you up the stairs, I was basically stuck in the kitchen. Christmas mornings were always difficult for me because if everybody would one by one go into the other rooms, that feeling would find its way to you and just make you run right out of there. I did okay though, my nana knows NOT to leave my side while we’re in there. It doesn’t matter how busy I got, that feeling was still there.

I just went and checked my Facebook…in other words I am being distracted. I saw that someone had shared a picture of a weather map of the Midwest for tomorrow. It doesn’t matter how much we want a week of good spring weather, mother nature has to give us the middle finger and says, “no can do suckers!” If I didn’t know any better, I’d say she acted a little bit like Miley Cyrus. Anyways, my nana had said that tomorrow we’re supposed to get some pretty bad storms, and might produce tornadoes too. Well, I just got a glance at the picture and I saw the orange, red, and a dark blue. The blue means “violent tornadoes” and it is heading our way. So I’m hoping these storms will be nice and let me do my Five Sentence Fiction post before it decides to let loose. So if you pray tonight, please pray for everybody in the Midwest and if you don’t pray, just send some positive vibes our way! Enjoy your night and Thursday!

Leave a Reply

