The Last Book You Read, Who Are You?

.
Writing Prompt from Amanda Patterson (click to go her Pinterest board)

If we were to really get down to it, my reading choices aren’t very well to be able to do this prompt, but I’m going to do it anyways, because I’m really bored and need something to do. So I’m picking the book I’m reading now, which if I would get myself to get back into it I would probably be finished with it by now and be able to move on to the next book. Right now I’m actually a book called, The Spice Of Life by Jennifer L. Jennings. I have had a tough time completing this book but I’m happy to say that I do like it and majority of the characters. I don’t want to give much away because of the fact that I would like to do a book review of it when I’m finished with it, but at the rate I’m going, this might be all you get of it. 

The main character is Vanessa Roth, and she is a married woman, who is in her 40’s and is very much a workaholic. Things happen the first few chapters that continue to change her life. Her husband leaves her, her assistant’s roommate gets raped and they come to leave with her at her house, and her niece takes her to some Burlesque classes as a birthday present, but her niece Anna gets a job in another state and she promises to Anna that she’ll continue to do the classes. Well, Vanessa is very much out of her element on all parts of her new life. Because now she’s separated, she’s got these two young people living with her and become a part of her life and on top of all that she promised to still take the classes, which she just hates to the core of her being. Right now I’m at like chapter 25 or 26, so I’m only sharing some of it as I still don’t want to give much away. To get back on track, I am the total opposite of Vanessa. I am not a workaholic nor am I married or in her case, separated. I am a lazy human being and I am still single. This will be my eighth Valentine’s Day being single. It never gets better trust me. Nobody’s came to live with me, other than my sister left to go to school and my parents are around, but that’s pretty much it.

The Burlesque part, I find myself drawn more into the old burlesque times, during the 1920’s and 30’s, because back then it was glamorous and flashy! I’ve read online that burlesque makes you self-aware of your body and as you learn how to use your body and do all of this things that you have a greater chance of loving your body. I think that is amazing and the one thing that I do have like Vanessa is the fact that we’re both very insecure about our bodies. Vanessa has had a rough few weeks and she doesn’t know what’s going on and her mind is just everywhere, but when she goes to these classes, the only thing she does is think about the classes and I’m hoping as the book goes on that she grows to like it and she becomes to feel comfortable about it. I feel like if the opportunity was to present itself I think I would go to a class. I would like to go to a private class instead, but I think that would be beside the point of loving your body if you don’t do it in front of people and showing people who you are just as beautiful as everybody else.

Leave a Reply

