Book Review: Rock My Bed by Michelle A. Valentine

249121_457150131038574_1981220070_n

I am finally finished with this book. I got on May 6th and been trying to finish it ever since I bought it. Since then, the hype for the second book in Aubrey and Riff’s book has been released and now I think Trip’s book is about to come out soon! This book is the second in the series and I didn’t bother reading about Noel and Lanie because I didn’t hear anything about the series until I finished another rocker related book. Don’t ask me which one, I have no idea. Sorry. Anyways, since it has been four months since I bought this book, my memory isn’t as good as I’d like it to be at remembering certain parts of the book, but since I started back on it yesterday, bits and pieces eventually came back to my head. Sometimes the look of the cover can either be the total opposite of how the characters are described in the book itself, or they can be the way the look on the cover. Everybody says, never judge a book by its cover. Hell, even I tell myself over and over again, but I think this cover is about right for both characters in the book.

Aubrey Jenson is an intern at a marketing business with her best Lanie Vance (who is the main character in the first book) and the ladies have a job to do with boys of Black Falcon  and honestly neither one want to go, but they have to. Aubrey is not like all of the groupies that crowd the band everyday. She also doesn’t want to get her heart-broken by somebody who’s just going to use her for sex in the first place, but when she meets Riff, he doesn’t know what to do with himself and gives him one of his infamous golden tickets. At first Aubrey is hestinate but she starts to think about it, it’s just one night. If she can just one last hoorah before she gives up dating these losers and find somebody real and settle down, she was up for it. So she takes the ticket. From there, things happen between them that neither one wanted or expected. Riff is a guarded creature and has been that way for a while. He doesn’t think Aubrey deserves to be in a relationship with him, but secretly he loves her just as much as she does. They both risk different things in their life that they thought they wanted. Add all of that and a box of Oreos and you’re in for a treat!

Usually when I read books that are about romance, I like both the male and female characters to have a balance. I just don’t want to like the male character because of the fact he’s the bad boy type of rocker. Not saying, it’s not a plus or anything. I just like both characters the same. Sometimes I get lucky and I find books were both characters are equal. This book, even though it had both characters giving out their perceptives between them, I just think Aubrey’s character could have been better. Much stronger. I think Riff’s character was so dramatic and the author explained about the accident, his sister and parents, why he doesn’t think he’s good enough. There were so many things containing Riff that I like Aubrey’s life wasn’t really part of the book until the very end of the book. I’m not saying I didn’t enjoy the book, I just didn’t like the fact that it was surrounded Riff’s life, which I know it’s “his” book, but Aubrey is apart of it too. Even the other characters got more time than Aubrey I think. It was off for me a little.

Leave a Reply

