Book Review: Her Mad Hatter by Marie Hall

Google
Google

“Wonderland was wonderful, but without a counterbalance it could turn its inhabitants completely insane.” ~ Danika

I will be the first one to say, I have never read the story version of Alice In Wonderland, but I have watched both versions of the movie. I don’t think I’ve ever had to think about fairytales until I started reading this book. It is very different, but interesting. When you watch a movie or read a story, you only have one way of seeing it. So when you read somebody’s imagination wander into something like this. Of course, the author is taking the tale of Alice In Wonderland, but she has leveled up as high up as it could go, I think. I have never thought of characters such as Alice and the Mad Hatter as soul mates? There’s some things I never thought I’d hear, but whatever.

I’ve got to say reading this book, I think I just like how much detail it has. When you read about the Mad Hatter’s garden, you start to imagine how it would look. Your inner child awakens from their slumber. Even though the detail of Wonderland seems innocent and childlike, this book is far from being for kids. It’s testing my ability to only see things one way. I liked pictures some of the fairytale characters of Alice In Wonderland and other familiar stories too. Honestly, I didn’t like this book at all. I tried to like it and find some way to at least give it a chance and I couldn’t. I think it was too far out there for me to like. Especially Alice Hu. She is a baker and has an Alice In Wonderlamd theme bakery and lives in HAWAII?!?! Didn’t the other Alice’s in the movies from England? That threw me for a loop right away. Because I was expecting to read about a blonde girl and already imagined her British accent. This Alice confused me.

The Mad Hatter wasn’t as good either. I was picturing Johnny Depp throughout the entire book. Which honestly was bad, because of the very hot steamy scenes at the end. I kept thinking of a red-headed clown and abstract clothing with Johnny’s voice. It was weird! The animated version is with the old guy so I knew that wasn’t going to work out whatsoever. The romance part of it was pretty good and kind of sweet, but since the theme was about a fairytale, it was very difficult to like. I also don’t see the Mad Hatter as a bad boy either, because bad boys are not crazy. They just act like macho assholes. There’s a difference. I did like Danika, the fairy godmother. She was a different fairy that I was okay with and I could process everything about her, but I did see her like the fairy godmother in Cinderella. Same voice too! That’s pretty much the only thing I liked about it. For the first book of the series, I didn’t like it and there’s a big possibility I won’t be reading the others either.

Leave a Reply

